World Champions in Bike Manawatu!

This week Bike Manawatu welcomed home two Junior World Champion track cyclists in Campbell Stewart and Michaela Drummond. Both have recently returned from a very successful trip by the NZ team to Astana in Kazakhstan, with Campbell winning the Omnium and Scratch races, and Michaela being a member of the winning teams pursuit (in new World Record time). All members of Bike Manawatu are very very proud of Campbell and Michaela for their results, but more particularly the hard work and dedication they have shown to get there. Well done!


Saturday Interclub Road Race

This Saturday 29th August we have another inter club road race with Wanganui Cycling Club.
The race is at Wanganui and the form and info are online here:
Distances: A = 6 laps 66km, B = 5 laps 55km, C = 4 laps 44 Km D = 3 Laps 33km
Please consider going along to support local road racing and our sister club in Wanganui.
Please register online at the above link so that timing chips can be sorted prior to the day.

Some nice feedback

From Kerry Hammington:

Sunday 19th July was otherwise engaged instead of cycling, but returning from Kiwitea through Feilding saw the main fast bunch heading out of Feilding across the bridge by the golf course. Wow, ALL the riders went along the bike track and across the path – not on the main part of the bridge. This was lead by some of the younger members of the group from what I could see. How mature and responsible is that? A lesson here for all the recreational cyclists as far as I am concerned – this signifies an intent and message to all motorists that we consider them as we would like to be considered in return.

Well done to that group a couple of Sundays ago, and maybe the slower groups could also take a lesson from the racier cyclists among us.
I salute you.

Summer Time Trial Series – Race Organiser Wanted!

Spring is just around the corner and that means it’s going to be daylight saving soon.
Our annual Spring/Summer Wednesday Night Time Trial series will get underway as soon as daylight saving starts.
But, we need someone to put their hand up to organise this pre-Christmas series.
It’s not hard, you just need to be there on a regular basis to open the Horizons Compound, take entries, and get some helpers to marshall, time, and hold the bikes. If you’ve got someone regularly riding, or ridden this series plenty of times without helping, then please consider this request.
Get in touch with myself or Katherine if you are interested in taking on the job.
This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. 021809597

Saturday club race - 22Aug

This week’s club race is number two in our series of handicap races; the Woolworth’s Cup at Halcombe.
It will be two laps of the Halcombe Stanway Tokorangi Circuit, but for those only wanting to complete 1 lap there is that option available but you will be set off a short time after those completing two laps.
This is a mass start and as it is a sealed handicap it may not necessarily be the first person across the line that will be the eventual winner.
Toshi Yamauchi is the race organiser and will be looking for some assistance. Please give him a call or send him an email if you can help.
It’s a great time to start racing again with the weather warming up (fingers crossed!).
Meet at Halcombe village at 1 pm for a 1:30 pm start.
$5 members, $10 non members
This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

Campbell Stewart's 2nd Update

Click here to view Campbell Stewart's latest newsletter just before he heads off to Astana, Kazakhstan. 

If you want to recieve future updates from Campbell's journey 'subcribe' to future emails. This option is in the top left hand corner of the newsleter.

Growing Champions in the Manawatu

Growing Champions

Growing Champions in the Manawatu

For interested Parents and Coaches

A short talk and panel discussion on how parents can best support the goals and
aspirations of their sporting children. Speakers include:
Mike McRedmond (Award-winning coach)
Paul van Velthooven (Parent of Olympic athlete)
Professor Steve Stannard (Sport Scientist)
Emma Crum (World Championship Cyclist)

Read more: Growing Champions...

Cycling Uncovered 2015

Sport ManawatuOn Tuesday 8th September 2015  Sport Manawatu will be starting “Cycling Uncovered”

Cycling Uncovered is an eight week programme designed to help people complete the 45k Tour de Manawatu event on 1st November 2015. The programme will take you through basic bike maintenance, essential bike handling skills, negotiating city streets, riding on the open road, hill climbing, riding in bunches and basic hydration and nutrition.

From the middle of September Cycling Uncovered will link with the Bike Manawatu Beginners Sunday morning ride.

For more info contact Phil Stevens This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

Wanted - The best rides in the Manawatu!


The organisers of the Sunday Ride routes try hard to keep up the variety and pick interesting routes.

But nobody knows the Manawatu roads like our club members...

So if you have a request, a route idea or some feedback on Sunday Rides we would love to hear from you.

Email: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.


This Saturday’s Race - 8-Aug-15

Our BM road race on Saturday is the first of three inter club races with Wanganui Cycling Club.

There is an inter club trophy up for grabs, so it’d be great to see a good turnout from BM riders.

Meet at Ashhurst Library at 1 pm for a 1:30 pm start.  Entry fee is $10 for all riders, as this is an inter club race.

We are doing the 13 km Ulysses Rd circuit (up Pohangina Rd, left into Ulysses, left again into Watershed, then back down to Ashhurst via Colyton Rd).
A Grade will do 5 laps; B Grade 4 laps, C grade 3 and if we have enough D grade riders, they will do 2 laps.
There is a 2 km gravel section, all up hill, so don’t ride your best carbon wheels.

See you there!

Race Report: Sutton Cup, Pahiatua, Saturday 31st July

The Sutton Cup has, over the past few years, been the first race of our handicap season. That being the case, it has been a sealed handicap, where everyone starts together, and the handicapper prior to the start makes a call on how much time should be added to the faster riders so that handicapped times are all similar. This year, however, we decided to run a graded handicap to ensure that a large bunch is not travelling down State Hwy 2.

So, five groups started the race, the scratch pair of Alex West and Robert Stannard having to make up twelve and a half minutes over the 44.6 km course. Barry Wilson lead the limit bunch which, although starting first, contained some quality riders such as Toshi, Chris Compton, Julie Miller, and Thomas Stannard.

Read more: Race Report:...

Please update your Flash Player to view content.